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How to calculate customer acquisition cost?

Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2025 4:15 am
by zihadhasan010
Calculating CAC is simple: just divide the sum of investments to acquire a customer by the number of customers acquired in a given period.

Let's say that in a quarter, your company invested $5,000 in Marketing and Sales and acquired 10 new customers. Your CAC is $500.

Simplifying, the formula is as follows:

CAC = sum of investments / number of customers acquired

Although the formula is simple, you need to be careful on some points so as not to mask reality.



Investments to be considered in the calculation
The sum of investments should consider only the expenses directly pakistan phone data involved in customer acquisition, which generally involves the Marketing and Sales areas. It does not consider, for example, the costs with the administrative area, SAC and product development.

So what should go into that sum? Be transparent with yourself, include everything that is involved in your outreach, relationship and sales strategy:

Team Salaries
Sales commissions
Training of collaborators
Acquisition of tools
Software subscription
Buying ads
Participation in events
Press advice
Printed materials
Trips
Telephone contacts
Etc.
Customers to be considered in the calculation
Regarding the number of clients, the same logic applies: only those directly acquired through investments in Marketing and Sales are included in the calculation.

For example, a blogger spontaneously mentions your brand and generates a customer for you. This acquisition should not be included in the calculation, since that channel was not in your strategy and you did not dedicate any effort or investment to it.